• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Interview with JamesThePersian

Status
Not open for further replies.

Green Gaia

Veteran Member
1) What is your religion and how did you become to be part of that faith?
I'm a member of the Holy Orthodox Catholic Church, which westerners usually refer to as Eastern Orthodox. More specifically I am a layman in the Orthodox Church of Romania under the omophorion of Metropolitan Iosif of Western and Southern Europe.

I was raised Protestant, though I became disenchanted with the faith as a teenager and drifted away. I tried for many years to find something else to fill the gap. Radical politics, religion, all sorts. I flirted with paganism for a while but it seemed too contrived. I later became a practicing Karma Kagyu Buddhist (a school of Tibetan Buddhism for a couple of years). I was happy with Buddhism but it still seemed like something was missing. I returned to Christianity in a vague sort of way but no particular church.

I'd already encountered Orthodoxy whilst doing charity work in Romania and it had always interested me. I became particularly interested at about the same time in some of the historical figures in Moldova (I'd continued to return to Romania) and this lead me to visit several monasteries. One day I met a wonderful monk who seemed to just exemplify what I thought Christianity ought to be. We talked for a long time and he gave me a present of a prayer book which I still treasure.