• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Im new to the reading of the Guru Grant Sahib, question..

W3bcrowf3r

Do other Gods exist according to the Guru?

It says that there is only one God. But why is my translation speaking about other gods? This is a contradiction in the translation. Can someone who can read the original help me with this question?

Treks

It's not a contradiction in the translation. Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji does talk about other gods. Usually it's in the context of using terminology and imagery familiar to Guru Sahib's audience at the time, and putting a new (Sikh) spin on it. Sometimes the audience is Hindu (so Guru Sahib talks about Raam, Vishnu, Lakshmi, Shiva, etc.) and sometimes Muslim (so Guru Sahib talks about Allah).

Ultimately the message in Gurbani seems to be that at best these beings are part of the myriad of creation, and at worst wrapped up in the "illusion" of Maya itself, much like the rest of us.

The message in Gurbani always goes past the gods and goddesses and religious rituals and lands on One Universal Creative Force and simply being a good person without complicated rituals.

Are there any particular passages you'd like to discuss?

Treks

@Unguru claims that in Sikhi "[the gods] are all one". I'm waiting for he or she to clarify just what they mean by that in a Sikh context. It is a specific statement and by itself could be confusing if they don't expand on what they're saying.

I don't fell that "The gods are all one because Sikhs believe in oneness (monism)" really answers the question at all.

Unguru