• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Going to Shabbat services -- Conservative to M.O.

Hi people,

I have been davening weekly at a Conservative congregation for a couple of years now. I haven't been inside an Orthodox shul since I was about 8 years old, and I'm curious to go again and see how comfortable it feels now.

It's a Modern Orthodox synagogue, within walking distance (albeit a long walk). My girlfriend's father also davens there sometimes, so I hope to see him, but he and I don't speak on a close basis.

Any practical advice? Dress, for example, should be black and white with coat and tie, or would any long-sleeved dress clothes be all right? My tallis is white with blue and gold stripes--should I just take the shul's in a more somber black and white, if they have some?

Tesla

Hi people,

I have been davening weekly at a Conservative congregation for a couple of years now. I haven't been inside an Orthodox shul since I was about 8 years old, and I'm curious to go again and see how comfortable it feels now.

It's a Modern Orthodox synagogue, within walking distance (albeit a long walk). My girlfriend's father also davens there sometimes, so I hope to see him, but he and I don't speak on a close basis.

Any practical advice? Dress, for example, should be black and white with coat and tie, or would any long-sleeved dress clothes be all right? My tallis is white with blue and gold stripes--should I just take the shul's in a more somber black and white, if they have some?