1. Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Eggs (food)

Discussion in 'Food and Beverage Forum' started by The Hammer, Jun 29, 2022.

  1. The Hammer

    The Hammer Fork-Beard
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,246
    Ratings:
    +17,482
    Religion:
    Druid
    Are eggs considered vegetarian?

    Do Hindus consider eggs vegetarian?

    What about the Jains? Buddhists?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. JustGeorge

    JustGeorge Unknown Member
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2020
    Messages:
    9,443
    Ratings:
    +19,118
    Religion:
    Hindu
    Depends who you ask.

    Depends on the Hindu. Eggs are considered tamasic, though. They're not typically offered to Hindu deities.

    I don't feel knowledgeable enough to answer the last question.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  3. ChristineM

    ChristineM "Be strong" I whispered to my coffee.
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    47,202
    Ratings:
    +44,055
    Religion:
    None
    Eggs are not animal flesh so are vegetarian but not vegan
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
  4. ronki23

    ronki23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,339
    Ratings:
    +398
    Religion:
    Dharmic
    Jains don't eat eggs but some Jains eat them (but not meat).

    Hindus and Buddhists can eat eggs but they're not meant to offer them as prasad.

    It's a grey area whether non veg food is allowed or strictly prohibited




     
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  5. Secret Chief

    Secret Chief Leaderless Animal

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    14,190
    Ratings:
    +13,595
    Religion:
    zen
    Eggs are vegetarian. That has nowt to do with people's religious belief.

    Regarding Buddhism and diet generally, I would think the only aspiration is to not consume intoxicants (one of the five precepts).
     
    • Winner Winner x 1
  6. ChristineM

    ChristineM "Be strong" I whispered to my coffee.
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    47,202
    Ratings:
    +44,055
    Religion:
    None
    You canni be using words like nowt to our American friends, I'm not sure it translates
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  7. The Hammer

    The Hammer Fork-Beard
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,246
    Ratings:
    +17,482
    Religion:
    Druid
    I'm assuming some transliteration of nought/nothing.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 2
  8. Secret Chief

    Secret Chief Leaderless Animal

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    14,190
    Ratings:
    +13,595
    Religion:
    zen
    It dunna?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. ChristineM

    ChristineM "Be strong" I whispered to my coffee.
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Messages:
    47,202
    Ratings:
    +44,055
    Religion:
    None
    Bloody hell. It does translate :)
     
    • Funny Funny x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
  10. crossfire

    crossfire Antinomian feminist heretic freak ☿
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    13,082
    Ratings:
    +5,962
    Religion:
    ☿ Mercuræn Mahayana Buddhist & Pastafarian
    My grandpa used to call eggs henfruit.
    Hens will lay infertile eggs without the presence of a rooster.
    Eggs are vegetarian, but not vegan.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
  11. Wildswanderer

    Wildswanderer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2021
    Messages:
    7,695
    Ratings:
    +1,529
    Religion:
    Christian
    I don't know... but a lot of carnivores eat lots of eggs.
    I'm more concerned about the health benefits than the category myself.
    I consider true free range yolks to be a very healthy food.
     
  12. SalixIncendium

    SalixIncendium Veteran Member
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Messages:
    16,999
    Ratings:
    +30,041
    Religion:
    Hindu
    Yes.

    This one does.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
  13. Subduction Zone

    Subduction Zone Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Messages:
    55,507
    Ratings:
    +36,534
    Religion:
    Atheist
    Balut?
     
  14. Shadow Wolf

    Shadow Wolf Student People Stabber

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    84,433
    Ratings:
    +37,892
    Religion:
    God is in the Rain
    Mmmmmmmmm.....chicken menstruation...
    [​IMG]
     
    • Funny Funny x 3
  15. Viker

    Viker Spirit in Black

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    7,648
    Ratings:
    +6,875
    Religion:
    In Diabolica
    Don't be silly. Eggs can't make their own proper dietary choices! They're just eggs. :rolleyes:

    :D
     
    • Funny Funny x 8
    • Like Like x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
  16. The Hammer

    The Hammer Fork-Beard
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,246
    Ratings:
    +17,482
    Religion:
    Druid
    You're silly.... :D
     
    • Funny Funny x 3
  17. The Hammer

    The Hammer Fork-Beard
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,246
    Ratings:
    +17,482
    Religion:
    Druid
    Definitely not vegetarian
     
  18. The Hammer

    The Hammer Fork-Beard
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,246
    Ratings:
    +17,482
    Religion:
    Druid
    I like to dip my hen flesh in the liquid of it's unborn...... and then dredge it and fry ;).
     
    • Winner Winner x 1
  19. Heyo

    Heyo Veteran Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    Messages:
    11,002
    Ratings:
    +10,090
    Religion:
    none
    Many here seem to think so, I disagree.
    Vegetarian is, like the name indicates, plant-based diet.
    But there are "ovo-lacto-vegetarians" who eat eggs and milk products (and honey), so basically animal products that are not connected with killing the animal.
     
  20. The Hammer

    The Hammer Fork-Beard
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    13,246
    Ratings:
    +17,482
    Religion:
    Druid
    Fair enough. I always thought the distinction between vegetarianism and vegan was one was ok with animal by products (honey, milk), and the latter was not.
     
Loading...