• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Does the U.S. have a "gun problem"?

jeager106

Learning more about Jehovah.
Premium Member
I vote YES.
A served 22.5 years as a police officer in a city known for it's share of violent crime.
Nearby Canton Oh. (F.B. hall of fame) is 5 times the size of the city I policed yet our city
had more murders than Canton.
Honest, I can't remember how many murders I investigated when I was a detective.
There were plenty in when I was a uniformed officer just taking the preliminary reports.
It was sickening.

Yer thorts?

Sunstone

De Diablo Del Fora
Premium Member
Part of it is cultural, I think. I grew up in a rural Midwestern county where nearly everyone owned guns, and that had one murder in 125 years until the 1970s. Then things began to change. But whether the issue is cultural or not, we have a gun problem in this country. Guns make it easier to wound or kill people. In a sense, they're like pouring gasoline on a fire.

Sees

Dragonslayer
I think it's too many folks with crappy subcultures packed in together that commit crimes with firearms and there is no doubt they would do the same with bats, knives, razors, etc.

jeager106

Premium Member
I think it's too many folks with crappy subcultures packed in together that commit crimes with firearms and there is no doubt they would do the same with bats, knives, razors, etc.

Really I do tend to beleive that.
I've seen a lot of violent deaths at the hands of others and suicides.
The weapons varied but guns weren't leading the list of weapons used.