• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Do we have any bridge players among us?

Altfish

Veteran Member
Used to play at club level but not played for 20-years, the ACOL system was what we played.

Brickjectivity

wind and rain touch not this brain
Staff member
Premium Member
I'm a serious bridge player and would like to discuss the game with anyone interested.
I understand that you use several decks and that the betting is complicated. I've no Bridge experience. I've played: Spades, Hearts, Texas Hold'm, Rook(like spades except highest bidder chooses the trump suite), and Gin. I've played a few other kid games.

It Aint Necessarily So

Veteran Member
Premium Member
Used to play at club level but not played for 20-years, the ACOL system was what we played.

I understand that that system is popular in the UK, but I have never learned it. I started with Standard American and then added 2-Over-1 Game Force with the Forcing 1NT convention later.

I think that I recall hearing that ACOL allowed opening 4-card majors. Is that correct?

It Aint Necessarily So

Veteran Member
Premium Member
I understand that you use several decks and that the betting is complicated. I've no Bridge experience. I've played: Spades, Hearts, Texas Hold'm, Rook(like spades except highest bidder chooses the trump suite), and Gin. I've played a few other kid games.

Bridge uses a single standard deck of four suits of 13 cards each, and doesn't generally include betting, but it can if you like. I've never played bridge for money.