• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Do the differences matter?

A4B4

It's been several years now that I've identified with Christian Deism or, more recently, Liberal Protestantism. Recently I have been exploring some new church communities, as that community and structure was missing from my life. I have also been trying to approach the subject with an open mind -- that said, I am a scientist, and there are some parts of science I don't think I can ever give up.

To me, the differences between my views and those of a more mainstream Christian aren't particularly huge, but it seems they are for some Christians, and I'm curious as to why...

Does it matter whether our souls pre-existed, versus God simply having knowledge of who we are or would become -- He is omniscient, isn't He? And, none of us seem to remember our pre-existence, anyways.

Does it matter if the Bible is inerrant or to be taken literally? Is it not trustworthy otherwise? Is God's love and character not otherwise known? If science were to disprove one part of the Bible, that would not stop me from believing the inspiration of the rest.

Does it matter whether the universe was created as a perfect place, or whether it was created as we observe it -- perfect in a physical, mechanical way, but still far from fair? I believe humans are responsible for many, perhaps most of the ailments and transgressions we perceive as evil today, but I don't think we had anything to do with the tornadoes or volcanic eruptions that devastated Midwest and South Pacific wildlife thousands of years ago...