• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Define Universe

Tiapan

Grumpy Old Man
When I was brought up the Universe contained "ÄLL" since the big bang. I am now a science teacher and when approached by those of a religious bent I explain it this way. Like a concentric pool of Venn Diagrams I explain here is the Universe and here is that we do know and here is that we don't know. Although god does not exist in the "known to me" (evidence) Universe, but I cannot presuppose he does not exist in the realm that is not known. What we do know is mathematics is universal, physics is its manifestation in mass, energy, space and time. As a subset of this is chemistry the electronic interactions of matter. Then Biology, sentience, psychology, sociology, religion, science and technology and information. We are part of an amazing experiment of chaos resulting in sentience and evolution. The drive is to improve....health, longevity, wealth, standard of living quality of life. We are part of an evolutionary process. We are neither the start nor the end of this process which will last several million years and we may have as much resemblance to future man as us and Australopithecus.
Results form the Hubble telescope and other deep space analysis, indicate matter, physics and chemistry on the other side of the universe and basically the same as here.