• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Criticism of the Bahai prophecies from the Tipitaka

firedragon

Veteran Member
Due to a recent conversation, this being a subject that could be objectively discussed I thought I will open a new thread to do so. There were several claims about the prophecy of Bahaullah cited in the Tipitaka mentioned in this forum that I would like to address. I am no expert on the Bahai scripture, thus I would like to be enlightened if there are any areas to be.

The particular chapter of the Tipitaka in question was the Chakkavatti Sutta where the Bahai's claim is a prophecy of Bahaullah. This is the coming of a so called "Metteyya" or "maithreya" who is an eschatological figure in the Buddhist scripture they believe is yet to come, yet of course the Bahai's claim he has, by the name of Bahaullah. The points I have are as follows: The Bahai claim to prophecy, and the criticism of it, concisely put.

1. The name: Bahaullah means "Glory of God" which I presume stems from the Arabic word Bahaa meaning beauty, glory as in an emanating light. Metteya in its essence means empathy, good will. Mettha. I am not sure if its an official claim that even the meaning of the name can be reconciled but this I state since the claim I have seen, so I am open to correction.