• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Cooking with Lard

MNoBody

coconut is better, but lard is great for pastry
bear lard makes the best pies [flaky pastry], but I haven't had any of that since we moved to the city

Brickjectivity

wind and rain touch not this brain
Staff member
Premium Member
complete novice here
not a clue

any list of pros and cons?
Unfortunately lard and crisco are the only way to get a pie crust the way its supposed to be. If you use butter or anything else -- absolutely anything else -- you will not get a classic pie crust.

Other than that I would get an air fryer or use something better for you like olive oil, avocado or grapeseed oil.

Wu Wei

ursus senum severiorum and ex-Bisy Backson
Lard is heaven....tamales....pie crusts.....
Life is more than just worth living.

Your a rabbid bacon eater..what you think about lard does not matter.....you misleader of the poor and defenseless and those involved in defalcation

Wu Wei

ursus senum severiorum and ex-Bisy Backson
complete novice here
not a clue

any list of pros and cons?

1 table spoon has 115 calories....

The rest I leave to you to figure out..

Lard

1. Lard