• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Christians - Relationships

drummrguy14

Hello...
I am a 19 year old student in Boston, with a serious girlfriend of 2 years back home in MN. I came out to Boston in the beginning of September, and the first time I got to see Laura since I left was over thanksgiving. Starting around October, we began having serious discussions about the lack of spirituality in our relationship. She is a very devoted Christian, and I have not found where I feel I belong. I believe very strongly in God and His presence in every thing in creation..."The Holy Spirit," but have not found a spiritual home anywhere.

Now, its not that I have anything against Christianity, or any other religion. I was rasied in a United Methodist home and am very comfortable in Church settings...I just never felt like what I was being told fulfilled my spiritual desires. So I have been trying to sort out my beliefs over the past 2 years or so. In talking about this with Laura, she became increasingly more doubtful, but yet still seemed to have hope. We had planned on trying to find a place of Worship where we both felt comfortable when I got home for winter break...

However, over the Thanksgiving break, she tearfully told me she wanted to break up becasue I did not know Jesus. This came as a total shock to me, and I am probably the most upset I have ever been in my life.