• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Brahman defined in Taittiriya Upanishad

atanu

Premium Member
I was asked about definition of God by @blü 2.

In this thread, my intention is information sharing and not debate. I am a scientist and I follow methodical naturalism in my profession. But I understand that methodical naturalism is limited to human intellect-senses and I believe that the study of the 'subject' that sees-knows the objects has to employ different method.

This thread is a small attempt to show to hard core ontological naturalists that approach of Vedanta towards knowledge of Brahman is systematic and relies on intellect to the greatest extent and more.

To a Hindu, Brahman is the supreme truth.

Brahman is silence and is known in silence. Yet for indication purpose, Brahman has been defined in Vedanta. I am citing here the most commonly used understanding of Brahman from Taittriya Upanishad, made up of three terms ‘Satyam (real), Jñānam (knowledge), Anantam (infinite)’. I reproduce some relevant explanatory notes from Swami Chinmayananda’s translation.

I have also linked a 45 minute video that I consider a very patient exposition and unzipping of a single verse of Taittriya Upanishad by Swami Sarvapriyananda. Interested readers may see it.

Taittiriya Upanishad
Chinmayananda, Swami. Taittriya Upanishad (Kindle Locations 2056-2059). Central Chinmaya Mission Trust. Kindle Edition.

Part II
om brahmavidāpnoti param, tadeṣā’bhyuktā,
satyaṁ jñānamanantaṁ brahma,
yo veda nihitaṁ guhāyāṁ parame vyoman,