• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

A RE-introduction is in order

TJ73

Howdy folks! When I first came here a few years ago, I was immediately obsessed and stimulated by the debate. I was living with my "husband" ( not a state recognized union), a Muslim and had changed so much in my life to accommodate my relationship and my desire for clarity. So I wore the hijab for a couple of years, begrudgingly. I studied and communed with the faithful, never feeling worthy or good and so deeply depressed I could hardly stand it.

So I get invited down south with a relative for a quick weekend of R an R in the sun, something I truly love SUNSHINE. But now that has lost its appeal because I can no longer embrace the warmth and glow and essential vitamin D. I'm covered head to toe. Then the idea of getting on a plane , going through airport security and hanging out in a rural GA town all covered up was too much. So my ex is to take me to the airport... I come down stairs with..... are you ready?..... MY HAIR EXPOSED!

He didn't freak out but was certainly upset. Long story short I could never manage to get a hijab back on and my doubts and longing for mental health and clarity and to no longer be depressed so over took me and our relationship ( which was all the while abusive and dysfunctional anyway).

I took my kids, left everything and moved to a much nicer town and became myself again. I have friends once more( so many didn't know what to do with the new me back then)

I'm happy, the kids are happy and I am completely uncertain spiritually.