• Welcome to Religious Forums, a friendly forum to discuss all religions in a friendly surrounding.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Our modern chat room. No add-ons or extensions required, just login and start chatting!
    • Access to private conversations with other members.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Art and Censorship

Fireside_Hindu

Jai Lakshmi Maa
Just a heads up - this is mostly a big, fat vent. Feel free to ignore me.

Some background:

As some of you know I'm an illustrator and a lot of my current work is devotional. I contacted a local cafe a year ago and asked if I could display my work on their walls. Their slots were full for a year, but sure, they'd write me in. I gave the woman a link to my artwork which featured, among other paintings, works depicting various Hindu Gods.

Now, I knew the cafe was owned and run by a Christian family, and I'm fine with that. I was keen to show them ALL my work so they would know what I do. I figured if they had a problem with it they'd just say, "no thanks" and we'd all go on our merry ways.

Fast forward to today, and I get a confirmation email from the cafe telling me they're ready for me to set up in a month. Great. Wonderful. I ask them a few questions about set up and how payments work.

In their reply, they state that, (I"m paraphrasing) "We love your style and the work you do and you're free to put together any set of paintings or theme you like. However I noticed you have several paintings of Hindu Gods in your portfolio. Even though they are lovely we ask that you not display those."

Now let me just say - She is perfectly within her right here. She can show or not show whatever paintings she wants.

What angers me, is that she waited a year to tell me, then pretends to give me creative freedom without actually giving it to me.